A Pinterest-inspired Friendsgiving!

It’s not that I “can’t” cook. Anyone can cook, right? All you need is, like, a pot. And a pan. And probably some running water. If you made it through a high school level science class – it’s safe to say that you can probably handle Mac & cheese.

I mean, it’s just following a recipe. “Annnnnyone can follow a recipe,” I said. “It’s just reading the instructions and, like, doing those things.” The whole concept of “not” being able to do it seemed a little insulting. “Can I read what it says to do in Step One and then move on to Step Two? Yea, I managed to get through four years of college, I think I can handle a baked chicken recipe from the Martha Stewart Cookbook.”

I mean, really. You’d think so.

“Do you think I could use garlic powder instead of real garlic?”, “How am I supposed to whisk butter…? Do we even have a whisk? Can I use a spoon?”– These are real examples that demonstrate how closely I am NOT FOLLOWING THE RECIPE.

“I mean, whisking is essentially just a fancy term for ‘stirring’, right? Is it not? Can I really not use a spoon?”

The recipe says “whisk”, but sure. They probably meant spoon. You went to college, you know what you’re doing.

The whole “not knowing how to cook” thing used to be endearing, when I was in my early twenties. I tell the story of how I started a small kitchen fire trying to make Hamburger Helper using a Wok. I make everyone laugh when I tell the story of making dinner for my college boyfriend, and having to run out just to buy a pot so that I could boil water for spaghetti. I was an adorable bad chef.

But it’s not cute anymore. Now I’m just a twenty-seven year old adult woman who can’t follow a recipe. I search Pinterest for “easy” dinners that mostly involve chicken or some sort of pasta dish. I tell my friends that I’ll bring the macaroni and cheese to Friendsgiving and they say, “BAKED macaroni and cheese” like I’m going to show up with a box of Velveeta Instant Mac (I don’t know even know if this is a real thing, but you know what I mean).

Naturally I did what any woman in her late twenties would do who’s trying to impress her friends – turn to Pinterest. Start searching terms like “Best Baked Macaroni and Cheese” and “from scratch”.

(This can be an eye opener, by the way. When you tell your friends that you made “Macaroni and Cheese…from scratch”, they’re like, “What do you mean, from scratch?”…. and you have to explain to them: “You know. I MADE the cheese. I mean, I melted the cheese. Real cheese.”…. The alternative being fake cheese, which is essentially how all boxed Mac & Cheese comes. With the orange powder. Just add milk. Like the astronauts do.)

Melting the cheese was the easy part. The rest of the time, I was saying things like this: “Wait, how much chicken broth?”….. “How do I know when it’s ‘al dente’?”…. “Why is the flour so lumpy?”… “I bet this will taste good with garlic salt”… “Maybe I should sprinkle just a litttttttle more garlic salt”…. “Is that enough cheese? That doesn’t look like enough cheese.”… “MORE GARLIC SALT”… 

Seriously. The recipe was RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME. And instead of just DOING WHAT IT SAID – I ended up stomping around the kitchen being cranky and grumbly and – overall, just a little ray of sunshine – until my boyfriend was finally like, “What’s wrong?”

“The cheese is lumpy.” I said. “The flour wouldn’t mix with the butter, because we don’t have a whisk, and now I have lumpy cheese.” 

“I’m sure it’s fine.” He said. 

“It’s not fine.”

“Did you follow the recipe?” 

No. I thought my way was better. OBVIOUSLY.

But no matter how badly it turns out, even if something’s on fire – I try to convince everyone that “I did everything it said!”. Like someone somehow published a faulty recipe out there. I don’t even know what I’m trying to cover up when I say this. Lying and saying that “I tried!” to follow a recipe when it turns out totally bad? – what am I trying to argue here? That I can’t read?

But, I mean, I did KIND OF TRY… it’s just that the directions didn’t say anything about garlic salt – and I was like, “This will make it better. I’m sure.” Same with the extra butter, and the cream cheese. I was just trying to make it taste betterI was trying to ‘make it my own’, as they say in the culinary world. (I don’t know why I suddenly think I’m Julia Child as soon as I get in front of a stove. It really doesn’t make any sense.)

“I’m sure it’s fine.” My boyfriend kept insisting, because he’s sweet. And because I’ve made him eat pumpkin flavored pasta before when I was feeling “festive” around Halloween time. Nothing can be worse than the pumpkin flavored pasta.

“No.I argued. “None of this is fine. I’m thirty minutes late because I had to wait for the macaroni and cheese to come out of the oven – because I put it in late, because I was trying to get the clumps out of the flour – and now I’M going to be late, and the food’s going to be cold, and people are going to be eating lumpy macaroni and cheese.” 

Mmm. Mmm. Lumpy.

“What if someone bites into a lump of flour?” I asked, horrified, imagining someone making that face people do when they take a bite of something and realize there’s something in their mouth that shouldn’t be there – like a chicken bone, or a ball of flour. “I don’t even know if I should bring this. Maybe I should just bring wine.”

“I’m sure it’s delicious,” my hostess friend said. I tried to warn her when I got there. “It’s hard to screw up macaroni and cheese.” 

“Yea. I mean, I’m sure it’s fine,” I said. Because that seemed less embarrassing than saying, “I’ve already imagined someone choking on a ball of flour at the dinner table.” Nobody wants to win the argument that they’re the worst little cook.

So, people ate it. Nobody died. If anyone tasted a lump of flour in their mouth, they didn’t let on. Friendsgiving 2017 was a success – much to the guidance of our Pinterest pages and a mutual obsession to make everything “cute”. (You know what I mean. The table settings, the decor, the festive drinks, etc.)

If you’re going to do Friendsgiving – DO IT RIGHT. To help you out – I’ve created a handy dandy guide to everything that we pinned to help make YOUR Friendsgiving a SUCCESS!


Festive Drink Recipes! 

drinkss

Apple Cider Mimosas: https://www.joyfulhealthyeats.com/apple-cider-mimosas/ 
Cranberry Apple Sangria: http://whitneybond.com/cranberry-apple-sangria-recipe/
DIY Sangria Gift Idea: https://fantabulosity.com/diy-gift-idea-sangria-for-friends/ (This makes a great hostess gift!)
Pumpkin Pie Martini: https://www.thespruce.com/pumpkin-martini-recipe-761145
DIY Pumpkin Party Cooler: https://www.marthastewart.com/268772/pumpkin-party-cooler


The Decor! 

decor

There are soooo many great ideas for Thanksgiving place settings on Pinterest! Some of my favorites include the “So very thankful” place cards – as well as the DIY “THANKS” mason jars! It’s so easy to make your dinner look chic and expensive on a budget.

decor2


The FOOD! (Arguably the most important part of Thanksgiving. Minus the giving thanks part.) 

apps

Butternut Squash Apple Bruschetta: http://whitneybond.com/butternut-squash-apple-bruschetta/
Caramel Pumpkin Cheesecake Dip: https://therecipecritic.com/2013/09/caramel-pumpkin-cheesecake-dip/
Roasted Garlic and Sage Pumpkin Hummus: https://www.nourish-and-fete.com/roasted-garlic-sage-pumpkin-hummus/

food

Crock Pot Fried Cinnamon Apples: https://www.recipesthatcrock.com/crock-pot-cinnamon-apples/
Baked Macaroni & Cheese: https://thecountrycontessa.com/baked-macaroni-cheese/ (Yep. This is the one.)
Slow-Cooker Sweet Potato Casserole: https://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/slow-cooker-sweet-potato-casserole/f7a859d6-c5e9-4f86-891c-dcea461a1104
Honey Garlic Roasted Carrots: http://www.eatwell101.com/honey-garlic-butter-roasted-carrots
Garlic Parmesan Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes: https://www.thechunkychef.com/garlic-parmesan-cheesy-scalloped-potatoes/


Don’t Forget the Hostess Gift! 

gifts

“Let’s Get Basted” Dinner Invitation or Wine Label: https://www.etsy.com/listing/544822534/lets-get-basted-invitation-friendsgiving?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=lets%20get%20basted&ref=sr_gallery_3
“Flipping Awesome” Pumpkin Pecan Waffles Candle: http://www.bathandbodyworks.com/p/pumpkin-pecan-waffles-3-wick-candle-023518851.html
“What Would Rory Gilmore Do?” Mug: https://www.etsy.com/listing/473503376/what-would-rory-gilmore-do-coffee-mug?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=What%20would%20Rory%20Gilmore%20do&ref=sr_gallery_3 (I’m including this because it’s what I would want as a hostess gift haha)
Unicorn Wine Stopper: https://www.express.com/clothing/women/slant-collections-unicorn-wine-stopper/pro/01164662/cat3470004
“Not Not Pumpkin Spice” Candle: https://shopbetches.com/products/not-not-pumpkin-spice-candle
“Friendsgiving 2017” Wine Glass: https://www.etsy.com/listing/485528895/friendsgiving-decal-thanksgiving-decals


 

Have I missed anything?! Let’s hear about your Friendsgiving traditions in the comment section!

PS: Happy Thanksgiving, ya’ll! I hope you’re spending the holiday with good food, good friends, and lots of family! Thank you for the kind words you leave in the comment sections and for reading my little stories. I have a lot to be thankful for this year – including this little blog, and all of you who have stuck with me on this journey. Thank you 🙂 

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54494_57_5B77CE5DAEFCDA133830FBF12F90776D

 

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s